close
The Story in the Picture: Inquiry and Artmaking with Young Children | Zookal Textbooks | Zookal Textbooks
  • Author(s) Christine Mulcahey
  • Edition
  • PublishedOctober 2017
  • PublisherTeachers College Press
  • ISBN9780807776544

This book provides teachers with the skills, and freedom, to design rich and open–ended art experiences for young children. The author demonstrates that using fine art reproductions in the early childhood curriculum allows children to construct their own meanings, teaches diversity, fosters thinking skills, and encourages storytelling. Based on the NAEYC and NAEA standards, this teacher–friendly resource includes lesson ideas, examples of activities, and photographs of children.

“The Story in the Picture has the capacity to have a profound impact on how art is viewed by educators by changing the art experience from one of insignificance to one that contributes greatly to the cognitive growth of the child.”
—Sharon Shaffer, Executive Director, Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center

“Christine Mulcahey’s watchwords are freedom, creativity, and imagination. . . . One can almost feel perspectives opening on her side of the looking glass as children’s voices break through the hush, and we come in touch with the unexpected.”
—From the Foreword by Maxine Greene, Teachers College, Columbia University

“Early childhood teachers will find this well–written, engaging, and easy–to–read book to be a gift! It makes sense of current research on early childhood and art and speaks to many common insecurities with easy–to–implement suggestions for the classroom.”
—Cathy Topal, Smith College

“In the tradition of Geraldine Dimondstein and W. Lambert Brittain, Christine Mulcahey shares wise counsel gleaned from conversations with young children about the art they make and the art that they encounter in richly varied preschool programs.
—Christine Marmé Thompson, Pennsylvania State University

The Story in the Picture: Inquiry and Artmaking with Young Children

Format
Get it instantly

Zookal account needed

$36.06 $37.94 Save $1.88
Add Zookal Study FREE trial and save a further 0% 

NEW PRICE

$36.06 + free shipping

(0% off - save $0.00)

Zookal Study Free trial

-day FREE trial. $14.95/mo after. Cancel anytime.

*Discount will apply at checkout.

 See terms and conditions

You will get a further 0% off for this item ($36.06 after discount) because you have added Zookal Study Premium Free Trial to your bag.

For this discount to apply, you will need to complete checkout with the Zookal Study Premium Free Trial in your bag.

-
+
  • Author(s) Christine Mulcahey
  • Edition
  • PublishedOctober 2017
  • PublisherTeachers College Press
  • ISBN9780807776544

This book provides teachers with the skills, and freedom, to design rich and open–ended art experiences for young children. The author demonstrates that using fine art reproductions in the early childhood curriculum allows children to construct their own meanings, teaches diversity, fosters thinking skills, and encourages storytelling. Based on the NAEYC and NAEA standards, this teacher–friendly resource includes lesson ideas, examples of activities, and photographs of children.

“The Story in the Picture has the capacity to have a profound impact on how art is viewed by educators by changing the art experience from one of insignificance to one that contributes greatly to the cognitive growth of the child.”
—Sharon Shaffer, Executive Director, Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center

“Christine Mulcahey’s watchwords are freedom, creativity, and imagination. . . . One can almost feel perspectives opening on her side of the looking glass as children’s voices break through the hush, and we come in touch with the unexpected.”
—From the Foreword by Maxine Greene, Teachers College, Columbia University

“Early childhood teachers will find this well–written, engaging, and easy–to–read book to be a gift! It makes sense of current research on early childhood and art and speaks to many common insecurities with easy–to–implement suggestions for the classroom.”
—Cathy Topal, Smith College

“In the tradition of Geraldine Dimondstein and W. Lambert Brittain, Christine Mulcahey shares wise counsel gleaned from conversations with young children about the art they make and the art that they encounter in richly varied preschool programs.
—Christine Marmé Thompson, Pennsylvania State University

translation missing: en.general.search.loading