Fate and Freedom in the Novels of David Adams Richards

Sara MacDonald; Barry Craig   ·  ISBN 9781498528719
Fate and Freedom in the Novels of David Adams Richards | Zookal Textbooks | Zookal Textbooks
Zookal account needed
Get it instantly
$162.75  Save $8.08
Publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group
Author(s) Sara MacDonald; Barry Craig
Published 05042017
Related course codes
This book explores the understanding of freedom developed in the later novels of celebrated Canadian author, David Adams Richards. Many reviewers highlight two interconnected features in Richards novels: a seemingly rigid determinism of setting and sociodemographics, and a resulting hopelessness. In contrast, Richards describes the quest of human life and the purpose of his novels as a search for freedom. This book explores the account of freedom that is developed through the course of four of Richards’s works: The Friends of Meager Fortune, Mercy Among the Children, The Lost Highway, and Crimes Against My Brother. Following the Augustinian thread that informs Richards’s writing, we argue that rather than presenting an understanding of human life that is bleak or hopeless, Richards instead reveals an argument wherein one’s happiness and freedom is found in the midst of love.
translation missing: